NBA's 'Nonstop' Christmas Play Promises a Theatrical Dec. 25

Keyon Bowman narrates special school pageant

Nothing says big-time holiday hoops like a school play featuring "Non-Stop," a zealous geek billed as the NBA's biggest fan. In October, actor Keyon Bowman first appeared as the character for the league's 2022-23 tip-off spot. Today, he returns in holiday promos from agency Translation, rhyming about the Christmas Day slate of games across ABC and ESPN.

The work takes the form of an elaborately goofy yuletide pageant, with appearances by ballers Devin Booker, Julius Erving and Ray Allen, plus rapper Action Bronson and influencer Brittney Elena.

A Nonstop NBA Christmas | #NBAXmas 2022-23

The pitch spoofs Clement Clarke Moore's " 'Twas the Night Before Christmas," spinning the festive poem from 1823 into a hip-hop-style ode crammed with cheeky references to the five contests airing on Dec. 25.

"These guys aren't hanging lights, they're hanging from the rim," Keyon says at one point. "Breaking records, not wishbones—now that is Christmas Day in the NBA."

Various edits for TV and digital tweak the emphasis and highlight specific games, boasting lines about "10 teams going mistletoe to toe" and "Shaking it up like snow globe! Lighting up your feed like a Christmas tree!"

Stink Films' Traktor directed the mini-extravaganza, the latest in a line of notable NBA seasonal spots dating back at least nine years to the vaunted "Jingle Bells" commercial. More recent outings include John Legend's "Christmasketball" variety show and 2021's awkward celeb-packed "Family Dinner," part of the league's "NBA Lane" 75th-anniversary celebration.

NBA Christmas Day Schedule on ABC/ESPN:
Philadelphia 76ers @ New York Knicks - 12 p.m. ET
Los Angeles Lakers @ Dallas Mavericks - 2:30 p.m. ET
Milwaukee Bucks @ Boston Celtics - 5 p.m. ET
Memphis Grizzlies @ Golden State Warriors - 8 p.m. ET
Phoenix Suns @ Denver Nuggets - 10:30 p.m. ET


Spot Title: The Great Christmas Play NBA | #NBA 2022-23
Brand/Client Team: NBA
Chief Marketing Officer: Tammy Henault
Senior Vice President, Creative Services: Janine Dugre
Senior Vice President, Global Fan Marketing: Jess Park
Senior Vice President, Content Production: Dion Cocoros
Vice President, Media Strategy and Planning: Larissa Johnson
Vice President, NBA Photos: Joseph Amati
Vice President, Global Fan Marketing: Kim Clark
Associate Vice President, Brand Marketing: Katie Papelian
Senior Director, Global Fan Marketing: Alaina Williams
Senior Advertising Manager: Matthew Halliwell
Senior Manager, Media, Marketing, and Entertainment: Jacinda Ortiz
Social and Digital Content Creation: Jim Poorten
Producer: Andrew Thompson
Creative Consultant: Rudy Crew
Senior Vice President, Entertainment and Player Marketing: Charlie Rosenzweig
Senior Vice President, Entertainment and Player Marketing: Michael Levine
Manager, Entertainment and Player Marketing: Molly Arnay
Senior Manager Content Promotions and PSAs: Cory Zalewski
Agency: Translation
Chief Executive Officer: Steve Stoute
President: Ann Wool
Chief Creative Officer: Jason Campbell
Chief Strategy Officer: Sandi Preston
Group Context Director: Joel Rodriguez
Group Creative Director: Mina Mikhael
Creative Director: Steve Horn
Art Director: Emeline Earman
Copywriter: MK Holladay
Head of Integrated Production: Alison Hill
Senior Producer: Ava Rant
Producer: Rebecca Parra
Head of Client Services: Susanna Swartley
Group Account Director: David Mintz
Account Director: Taylor West
Account Executive: Laura Palacino
Group Strategy Director: Kate Perkins
Junior Strategist: Mokhtar Al-Yamani
Senior Context Strategist: Alex Glaum
Context Strategist: Mike Howard

Production Company: Stink Films
Director: TRAKTOR
Director of Photography: Hoyte van Hotema
VP/Executive Producer: Mungo Maclagan
Line Producer: Mark Walejko
Head of Production: Ari Schneiderman
Production Designer: Jason Schuster
VFX Company: Parliament
Color Grade: Rare Medium
Colorist: Mikey Rossiter
EP/Managing Partner: Heath Raymond
Editorial Company:
Editors: Joe Guest
NY Assistant Editor: Alyce Muhammad
US Managing Director: Justin Brukman
NY Executive Producer: Sarah Roebuck
UK Executive Producer: Michelle Corney
NY Producer: Sue Romweber
NY HOP: Penny Ensley
Audio Post Production: Sonic Unioin
Sound Designer & Mix Engineer: Rob DiFondi
Head of Production: Patrick Sullivan
Original Music Composition:
Original Music by Walker
Managing Director: Sara Matarazzo
Senior Producer: Dottie Scharr
Senior Producer: Neha Ewell
Associate Producer: Samantha Zirin

Advertise With Us

Featured Clio Award Winner



The best in creativity delivered to your inbox every morning.